It’s time to go now


It’s time to go now,
To meet my Creator,
There’s no excuse left,
It can’t wait till later.
 
The luggage is ready,
I don’t need to pack,
Nothing new can be added,
I can only look back.
 
Oh! What have I done?
Nothing at all,
Nothing that will please ALLAH,
Nothing I can recall.
 
I had ‘The Book’,
I could’ve saved myself,
But I kept it safely,
High up on the shelf.
 
My parents were too caring,
I should’ve served them well,
The way I treated them,
I can’t even tell.
 
I heard ALLAH calling me,
Five times a day,
I knew it was important,
Just didn’t find time to pray.
 
I had a busy life,
As busy as it gets,
It wasn’t easy to balance,
Work, family and friends.
 
I wanted to grow up soon,
Then I wanted my childhood back,
This life was such a mystery,
A code I couldn’t crack.
 
It’s time to go now,
To meet my Creator,
There’s no excuse left,
It can’t wait till later.
 
It seems a bit too early,
I wish I had more time,
I feel so guilty in my heart,
Like I’ve lived a life of crime.
 
I forgot Him when times were good,
I remembered Him when things went bad,
He used to be my only hope,
The only hope I had.
 
Money could buy me everything,
Everything in the world,
But now it seems worthless,
When I fail to utter a word.
 
I knew I had to die one day,
I knew this day would come,
I thought I could fix things up,
Now I run harum-scarum.
 
It’s time to go now,
To meet my Creator,
There’s no excuse left,
It can’t wait till later.
 

Hammad A. Mateen

2 responses to “It’s time to go now

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention It’s time to go now | Hammad Abdul Mateen's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

